Lazy Busy

BLOG Lazy Busy

Recently, a friend shared this quote by Mandy Hale with me, which I regarded as an invitation for some self reflection. Although I thought the quote made sense, my initial reaction was to justify why it does not apply to me. I found myself making excuses for why I am seemingly so busy – work, work after work, ministry… the list goes on. So what lies at the bottom of why I do what I do, and why do I take on as much as I do?

Some verses came to mind, as God invited me to meditate on His Word.

Ephesians 5:16-17 (ESV)

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

I continued to explore this idea of time and busyness.  Then I came across an article from Desiring God (http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/you-have-just-enough-time) with this quote.

“So busyness is moral laziness, frankly. It is a kind of laziness. And we decided many, many years ago, my wife and I, that we would never ever say to anybody that I am busy or that I am too busy or that I can’t do that because I am busy — that this excuse was simply morally lazy and inattentive to people. And it just often makes a statement of self-importance. ‘I am so important, I am so busy.’ But God has given us just enough time to do what we need to do moment by moment to respond to him. And his grace is there; it is eternally present. Every moment is a sacrament where time touches eternity and there is exactly enough time to do what God has called us to do.”

Bruce Hindmarsh – James M. Houston Professor of Spiritual Theology at Regent College in Vancouver

As I read this quote from Professor Hindmarsh, I thought about the many times I hid behind the veil of busyness, perhaps to avoid the responsibilities I have toward the people closest to me, or to prove my own worth and realizing the feat is futile. What is the will of the Lord for me in this season, at this moment and in the larger scope of things? For those of us who are busier than we should be, let’s be reminded that God has given us exactly enough time to do His will and sufficient grace for every moment of time.

Seneca Law

(Image credit: Twitter)

Leave a Comment!

